Just another WordPress.com site

Benny and the Fig

When the temperature gauge hits 90 plus,Β  I grab my possibles bag, which has everything I need in case I get stuck and have to hang out longer than anticipated, I fill up some water bottles, find Benny my Yellow Lab who is usually already in the water or laying in the shade drying off after his last trip into the water, load it all into the boat and off we go… Our destination? A little stretch of beach that is barely visible at high tide but as the tide recedes it reveals my version of a tropical paradise. The sand is nice and firm, it is fairly free of the rocks and vegetation that are inherent to life on the river. In short, it is the perfect place to beach the boat and jump into the river for some much needed relief from the heat.

Most days I float around and watch Benny do what Benny does, Benny needs no one to stay amused whether it be a stick, rock, crawdad crawling along the shore or in this case a fig Benny is all action from the time we arrive till the time we leave.

While sitting in the water trying to figure out what to do next, Benny got that what’s that look?The look he gets when he see’s something that he deems retrievable, that one item he thinks he may be able to con me into throwing for him. As his interest heightens he assumes the retrieve position.and off he goes, while I sit there wondering what the heck is he after now.With the efficiency of a Swiss watch he swims out and retrieves the mystery item post haste,he swoops it up as I’m sitting there thinking that I sure hope it’s not something dead or disgusting and back he comes item in hand… er… mouth.Thanks Benny for the….Fig? Great now I have to go through the whole fake Benny left while I throw right into the bushes and hope he doesn’t see me do it routine.

11 responses

  1. Pleased to see you back again! Great photos as usual and a fun trip πŸ™‚ My lab used to have endless fun playing with a grape….until he eventually popped it. He could make one last for hours πŸ˜€

    July 18, 2012 at 7:24 pm

  2. wow great shots Hutch! Thanks for the comment on my blog and thanks for stopping by too πŸ˜€
    Thanks,
    Renee

    July 19, 2012 at 1:42 am

    • hi Hutch… I have nominated your blog the Beautiful Blog award!! congrats! for info on whatto do, visit my post: http://randpphotoalbums.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/beautiful-blog-award/

      July 27, 2012 at 2:15 am

      • Thank you so much Rene. I have been on hiatus the past couple of weeks, having some internet and hard drive issues but slowly but surely getting them resolved once again thanks for nominating me for the award..

        August 8, 2012 at 9:42 pm

      • Oh fun…. lol your very welcome!! πŸ™‚

        August 9, 2012 at 1:41 am

  3. And excellent series of photograph of Benny bringing his owner new and welcomed surprises.

    September 5, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    • Lol..Thanks Munchow

      September 5, 2012 at 7:40 pm

  4. This post makes me want a lab so much!

    September 7, 2012 at 10:01 am

    • Lol… They are great dogs, They can go from high energy to takin a nap in a heartbeat. They definitely keep it interesting.. If you have the time and the room get one, you won’t regret it.

      September 9, 2012 at 4:10 pm

  5. lovely πŸ™‚

    September 24, 2012 at 6:32 am

  6. Renee

    There is an Online Christmas Party at Marsha Lee’s Blog! Celebrating my birthday and Christmas! Feel free to stop by and celebrate! http://tchistorygal.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/renees-online-birthday-party/
    Merry Christmas!
    Renee πŸ™‚

    December 25, 2012 at 10:50 pm

Leave a Reply

