Just another WordPress.com site

Arm Chair Photography – Birds of Prey

Still recouping from a rib injury I have been pretty much confined to the comfy arm chair on the front deck of the houseboat. I must say it could be worse, the photo opportunities abound and I have noticed things that I have not noticed in the 10 years I have been here. There is definitely something to be said about just sitting in silence and observing. I think we all get so busy doing what we do that we take little time to just sit and observe, smell the roses sort of speak. My observations most especially in the last two weeks have focused on the Birds of Prey that inhabit the River. In the past Birds of Prey have always been the main focus of my Wildlife photography,  I must say though I have never captured these predators in the act of what they do to survive on a daily basis with the frequency that I have in the past 2 weeks just sitting on the deck of my houseboat. These are some of the photos I have taken in the last 2 weeks, I hope you enjoy.

The Tern is one of my favorite subjects to photograph, not only are they graceful and acrobatic, they are tenacious fishermen and have frequently led me to the fish on my own fishing excursions, timing is everything when trying to photograph these guys.The Egrets and Herons remind me of great prehistoric beasts as they stalk the shallows in search of food, they are extremely patient as well as opportunistic, they strike their prey with extreme accuracy and deadly resolve. If it moves they will eat it. In this first photo look to the left of the Heron as he flips the crawdad to get a better swallowing angle, another unsuspecting crawdad awaits the same fate as its now deceased predecessor.After wrestling and consuming this fat Bluegill this Heron flew back across the river to take a much needed nap.After his nap the Heron returned on the evening tide for a quick meal of CatfishNot to be outdone the Egret caught and consumed it’s meal of BluegillThe beauty of just sitting in one spot and being patient is you never know what will fly by, this can be boring but it pays to be ready at all times, on this occasion an Osprey flew by to show me its daily catch.This guy is a show off, this is not the first time he has come by to show me his catch.Not to be outdone the local Redtail Hawk flew by to show off her catch on the way to her nest to feed the babies.This photo was not taken from the comfort of my arm chair but I thought it appropriate for the purposes of this post.Hope you enjoyed this post your feedback is appreciated, stay tuned for more.

7 responses

  1. Fantastic pics. Thanks for sharing!

    May 29, 2012 at 8:24 pm

  2. Tremendous captures, Hutch.

    May 29, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    • Thanks Mike

      May 29, 2012 at 10:08 pm

  3. Look out! That osprey has got his eyes on you 😀 Fantastic as usual 🙂

    May 29, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    • Definitely has me beat in a stare down contest, intense. Thanks Avis

      May 29, 2012 at 10:09 pm

  4. Great shots! I love birds! 🙂

    July 19, 2012 at 1:45 am

Leave a Reply

